Jordan Palin defends British Youth title

Aug 1st, 2020


HEB Scunthorpe Scorpions’ 16-year-old star Jordan Palin will lead the line-up for the opening round of the British Youth Championship at the Eddie Wright Raceway next Sunday (August 9th, 5pm).

Palin is the defending the 500cc champion, but he will face stiff competition in what looks like a very competitive class in 2020.

The Thompson twins, Joe and Dan, were also due to ride in Championship in 2020, for Leicester, before the league season was cancelled.

Scunthorpe promoter Rob Godfrey said: “It’s a top line-up, especially in the 500cc class, where seven out of 11 of the riders were due to ride in the National League this season, and three of those were also set to ride in the Championship.

“Much of the local interest will focus on Jordan Palin, who is the defending champion in the 500cc class, and of course, he was going to be part of the HEB Scunthorpe Scorpions this season before coronavirus put paid to our league season.

“Another very talented local lad, Luke Harrison, also lines up in the 250cc class, and he’s also very keen for success.

“In total, there are 33 riders and 37 races due next Sunday. All-in-all, we should have some tremendous racing in what will be the first speedway meeting in the UK with spectators allowed since we staged the Ben Fund Bonanza at the Eddie Wright Raceway way back in mid-March.”

Godfrey has gained permission from the local council to run speedway at the Eddie Wright Raceway at a grassroots level up to National Development League level, with restricted crowds.

For the British Youth Championship round at Scunthorpe, there are a limited number of tickets on sale on the club website, which are being sold on a first-come first-served basis. Tickets are only available online via the club website – entry is by pre-purchased ticket only.

The price for all adults aged 16 and above is £6.50 (£6 plus a 50p handling fee). This includes the programme. Under 16s admitted free with a contact tracing responsible adult.

Members of the public are expected to respect the safe distancing advice given. If they do not, or show signs of Covid-19, they may be asked to leave. Any individual already showing signs of Covid-19 must not visit the venue.

Tickets are available under the Ticket Office menu on the club website at:

500cc class: Jordan Palin, Harry McGurk, Elliot Kelly, Archie Freeman, Dan Thompson, Sam Peters, Joe Thompson, Mickie Simpson, Sam McGurk, Katie Gordon, Sam Hagon.
250cc class: Luke Harrison, Max James, William Hocaniuk, Ashton Vale.
125cc class (a): Max Perry, Jamie Etherington, Ben Trigger, Charlie Wood, Cooper Rushen, Sonny Springer, William Cairns, Ace Pijper, Jack Shimelt.
125cc class (b): Oliver Bovingdon, Jake Lee, Owen Booth, Stene Pijper, Rico Joyce, Caydin Martin, Rebecca Weston, George Colvin, Billy Budd.

NOTE REGARDING TICKETS: Please remember to print off the email(s) you receive back after any transaction has been completed. These MUST be presented at the stadium on request as proof of purchase. We DO NOT send out tickets in the post. You should take these documents to the staff at the entry point at the Eddie Wright Raceway. Also note there is a 50p handling fee for each ticket ordered. This will show on your PayPal invoice as postage and packing.

PHOTO: Ian Rispin.

© 2008 - 2021 Scunthorpe Speedway