Big meeting preview: the NLRC

Oct 5th, 2019



SCUNTHORPE SPEEDWAY will stage arguably the most prestigious meeting in 15 years of operation at the Eddie Wright Raceway, when the North Lincolnshire track hosts the National League Riders’ Championship tomorrow (Sunday) at 6pm.

The individual event is the biggest meeting of year and the climax of the season at third-tier level, and it is the meeting that all the riders at this level want to win.

The roll of honour dates back to 1994, and Scunthorpe-born treble World Champion Tai Woffinden was the winner of the 2007 event at Rye House while representing his hometown club.

Amongst those riders in this year’s competition are Ryan Kinsley and Jordan Palin.

Kinsley has been part of the HEB Scunthorpe Scorpions in 2019, and he has taken some big scalps around the Eddie Wright Raceway, including that of seven-times British Champion Scott Nicholls. Kinsley will represent Mildenhall, having signed for the Suffolk club late in the season as injury cover for Danny Ayres.

15-year-old Palin has been promised a reserve berth with Scorpions in 2020. The local youngster is one of the hottest prospects in the speedway and has enjoyed a tremendous season with Belle Vue Colts.

Scunthorpe promoter Rob Godfrey said: “It’s going to be a great meeting.

“The Scunthorpe fans will be cheering on Ryan Kinsley and Jordan Palin, and while I’d love to see them do well, I wish the best of luck to all 16 competitors.

“It’s so difficult to pick a winner. You could look at Ellis Perks, who had a brilliant meeting here for Leicester, but then you’ve good the likes of Max Clegg and Ben Morley, who are past winners and know what’s required to win this meeting.

“Anders Rowe loves racing around Scunthorpe, as does Drew Kemp – both have impressed around here.

“But you could pick a dozen riders who could end up as the victor – the line-up is that good.

“What makes it interesting is that it’s a straight shoot-out across 20 heats, so every single point is crucial to the final standings.

“We’re proud that the Eddie Wright Raceway is considered one of the best race strips in the country and we’re aiming to put on the best possible racetrack, so that the riders can put on a real show.

“It’s going to be a fabulous day, so please come along and get behind your favourite.”

The NLRC will conclude the season of professional speedway racing at the venue, although amateur speedway will continue at Scunthorpe throughout the winter.

Admission prices are £15 adults, £10 concessions with under-16s free. The special souvenir programme is £2.50.

Gates will open at 4.30pm, with racing commencing at 6pm.

LINE-UP: Ryan Kinsley (Mildenhall), Kyle Bickley (Belle Vue), Jordan Palin (Belle Vue), Ben Morley (Isle of Wight), Ellis Perks (Leicester), Danyon Hume (Leicester), Danny Phillips (Belle Vue), Joe Lawlor (Stoke), Jason Edwards (Mildenhall), Nathan Stoneman (Plymouth), Drew Kemp (Kent), Danno Verge (Isle of Wight), Max Clegg (Cradley), Anders Rowe (Kent), Connor Coles (Stoke), Ben Wilson (Plymouth). Reserves: Dan Thompson (Leicester), Joe Thompson (Leicester).

© 2008 - 2020 Scunthorpe Speedway